115 Contributors Announced

We are happy to announce the contributors whose work was accepted to appear in Transfer 115.

Congratulations to Lina Baker, Mitchell Blomquist, Carlo Cazares, Lara Coley, Irene Cuellar, Nicole Damon, Madison Decter, Fred Dodsworth, Hudson Everett, Celeste Flores, Jessica Fuentes, Emma Galasso, Zack Hanson, Sarah Hernandez, Raphaela Hopson, Sophie Liang, Shanika Mulkerin, Kelly O’Rourke, Emily Pinkerton, Kimberly Reyes, Libby Rosas, Brisa Sepulveda, Andrea Silva, A.J. Sorensen, Gavin Townsley, Sophia Wenzel, and Gizzel Yanez! Thank you so much for your amazing writing.

We will announce the accepted contributing artists very soon. Transfer 115 will be available in early May.

Deadline Extension

…but only until tomorrow, February 20th, 2018. Apologies for the conflicting dates on some of our flyers; some promised the 20th as the deadline and therefore we have re-opened Submittable until then.

If you missed the original February 16th deadline, now’s the time to turn your work in!

Deadline Approaching

Transfer 115 - The Final Stretch

Hello SFSU students! Just a reminder, the deadline for Transfer 115 writing submissions is February 16th—that’s this Friday. Hurry up and finish polishing your wonderful pieces and submit, submit, submit! Full guidelines are posted on our Submittable page, which is also where you will send us your work from.

Pictured: “About Time, Over You” by Odessa Blackmore, from Transfer 114.

We’re Back!

Our website is up and running after four years of neglect—but we’re still working on making it more awesome than ever before. Please bear with us while it’s under construction. In the meantime, submit your amazing fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, comic strips, and artwork for publication in Transfer 115, our latest issue. Deadline is February 16th, 2018. Don’t forget to check back here soon!

Transfer 115 Release Header

Transfer 107 is out!

Transfer 107 is finally out the door, and it looks great. Special thanks to the editors and staff who worked so hard to bring it all together.

The authors published this semester are: Chris Ames, Amy K. Bell, Jan-Henry Gray, Katrin Gibb, Joshua Gill-Sutton, Collin Jacobs, Kristin Von Kundra, Chad Koch, Juliana Delgado Lopera, Ari Moskowitz, Karim Quesada-Khoury, Jared Roehrig, Gray Tolhurst, and Chelsea Turowsky. We also had an interview with S.F. State Professor Barbara Tomash, and beautiful art from photographers Tate Drucker and Jessica Christian.

The winner of the Leo Litwak Award for Fiction is Amy K. Bell for her novel excerpt The Alien Speaks.

Leo Litwak Honorable Mention: Juliana Delgado Lopera for Niña! Call Me Catherine White.

The winners of the Mark Linenthal Award for Poetry are Gray Tolhurst for Hexagram 34 and Jared Roehrig for The Dream Diary of Hồ Chí Minh.

Mark Linenthal Honorable Mention: Chelsea Turowsky for Yard in Sections.

Three Years Later…

In a few moments, you will awake as if the Transfer blog had never been inactive. You will feel refreshed, awake, and you will not remember that for three years, nothing was posted here.

Thanks to the efforts of our Spring 2014 staff, this WordPress is re-opened for business! Huzzah!

Spring 2013 issue, #105

Hello writers & readers of Transfer! Happy spring! We are now accepting submissions for the Spring 2013 issue of Transfer. We welcome writers of ALL majors at SFSU to submit their best poetry, fiction, and/or drama pieces.

The deadline is February 15 at 7pm. To submit your work, please attach a cover letter along with four copies of your manuscript, and turn it in to either the Transfer office (HUM 372) or the Creative Writing office (HUM 380).

Pick up cover letters at the Transfer office (HUM 372), the Creative Writing office (HUM 380), or click here to download and print it out.

Best of luck and we look forward to reading (and hopefully publishing) your beautiful works.